Redesigned RSS in Education Lesson

When I read through and reflected on the feedback on my original lesson (see previous post), I recognized a challenge to improve my lesson but also to confront a reoccurring theme online: very little appropriate content for younger students through RSS. I went back and searched through Feedly and Google and finally found a few things/sites I could use so that students could be introduced to RSS in the elementary classroom.I created another Feedly account for students. While I kept the initial objectives and rubric, I redesigned the assessment in Google forms and now have student data collected through this form of assessment.

So now, with the opportunity to redesign my lesson, I have developed this lesson and I am excited to use the Google form for assessment to keep an organized data collection tool and have a paperless assignment!

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1uia5FbeWn4OZ1qEBgB0gkwpxCq1PJMDBwhS_oVdFqmw/edit

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 9.29.12 AM

Feedly Home Page

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 8.26.25 AM

Nasa Image of the Day

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 8.25.26 AM

The site the students will go to:Animal of the Day

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 8.26.08 AM

National Geographic Photo of the Day

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 8.36.18 AM

Screen shot of Google Form for Nonfiction assessment

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 8.36.50 AM

Another screen shot of Google Form for Nonfiction assessment

Leave a comment